The National Commission on Research, Science and Technology (NCRST) announces the appointment of its new Board of Commissioners. The new appointments include the newly elected Chairperson, Dr Norton Titus, of the Ministry of Mines and Energy – Geological Survey and Ms Josephine /Haubas, as the Deputy Chairperson.


Other Commissioners representing sectors provided for in the Research, Science and Technology Act (No. 23 of 2004), include:

  1. Dr Riaan Steenkamp                 -Chairperson – Space Science Council
  2. Mr J. M. Ashipala                       -National Planning Commission
  3. Dr Tshali Iithete                          -NCCI
  4. Ms Mirriam Sezuni                     -NANSO
  5. Mr Joshua Kaumbi                     -Law Society of Namibia
  6. Ms Sylvia Demas                       -NCHE
  7. Mr Benjamin Katjipuka                -Ministry of Trade
  8. Ms Elly Hamunyela                     -MET
  9. Ms Graca D’Almeida                   -Ministry of Fisheries & Marine Resources
  10. Ms Patience Saushini                 -Ministry of Works
  11. Ms Johanna F. Andowa              -MAWF
  12. Ms Ivonne Mujoro-Kaukuetu      -Ministry of Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare